

## **BROOKHAVEN TOWN FIRE CHIEFS COUNCIL**

Hon. Jeffrey Cohen Acting Secretary to the Public Service Commission Empire State Plaza – Agency Building #3 Albany, New York 12223-0350

EXEC-FILES-ALBAN OEP PH မ္မာ

Acting Secretary Cohen,

The Brookhaven Town Fire Chiefs Council is an organization whose membership consists of every active Chief and the Ex-Chiefs of the 39 fire departments and fire companies in Brookhaven Town, the largest township in New York State. The concern of this organization is to collectively promote and enhance the effectiveness of our responses to the calls of the residents of our respective districts.

A major concern of ours is a situation that is ongoing on Fire Island. The copper wires that used to supply phone service to the communities that exist there, were destroyed during the Super Storm. It is factual that power was restored to the residents after inspections were completed to check for salt water damage. Why haven't the efforts to restore the copper wire phone service been as timely?

Without a copper wire phone service, a service that still functions even during a power failure, how can we insure that the residents can call for help? How will they call for the lifesaving services that are provided by the fire and EMS units of Fire Island?

The Public Service Commission mandates that the copper system be rebuilt. A Wi-Fi service, though convenient with all of the mobile devices that are now available, cannot replace the tried and true copper land line system. During the summer on Fire Island, a common event is the loss of power. Standard practices mandate that the fire department respond to commercial areas and the ferry docks to provide lighting. Imagine the resident, without a functioning copper wire land line, who now has no way of calling for assistance. This scenario can happen. This can also be prevented.

The corporate desire for greater profit cannot be made at the expense of the safety of the residents of Fire Island. Please step in and correct this situation at the PSC before it gets out of hand.

Thank you an advance for anything that you can do for us and feel free to contact me anytime on my cell at 631-872-8911

Respectfully,

John Cronin

John Cronin, President Brookhaven Town Fire Chiefs Council

## Past Presidents

John DeVito	2011-2012
Ed Peiliker	2010-2011
Chris Solimine	2009-2010
Mike Barry	2008-2009
Bob Wallace	2007-2008
John DeLong	2006-2007
Rudy Sunderman Jr.	2005-2006
Stan Lenz	2004-2005
Jack Blaum Jr.	2003-2004
Scott Thebold	2002-2004
Joe Spain	2001-2002
	2001-2002
Jr. Saetran	1999-2000
Bob Smith	
Jay Egan	1998-1999
John Mirando	1997-1998
John Masem Jr.	1996-1997
Mike Ringrose	1994-1996
Ed Walsh	1993-1994
John Heffner Jr.	1991-1993
Rick Van DeKieft	1990-1991
William Lyons	1989-1990
Frank Thornhill	1988-1989
Dan Tringali	1987-1988
Jack Messina	1986-1987
Ken Johnson	1985-1986
David Call	1984-1985
Lou Valentino	1983-1984
Norman Neil	1982-1983
James Watson	1981-1982
Chet Arthur	1980-1981
Vic Diglio	1979-1980
Roger Grace	1978-1979
Dan Stelmaschuk	1977-1978
	1976-1978
George Daniels	1975-1977
Quentin Reynolds	
Ralph Lochren	1974-1975
Tom Webb	1973-1974
Robert Dixon	1972-1973
Frank Dunham	1971-1972
Joe Danowski Sr.	1970-1971
Frank Mapes	1969-1970
James Deedy	1968-1969
Norman Pothier	1967-1968
Ed Connelly	1966-1967
Frank Hutton	1965-1966
Rex Heinz	1964-1965
Jack Austin	1963-1964
Walter Skidmore	1962-1963
Jack Blaum Sr.	1961-1962
Albert Roth	1960-1961
Harold Lyons	1959-1960
Tom Totten	1958-1959
Charles Miller	1956-1958
C	